A Child-Like Faith

by Julie

My occupation is toddlers. Lots of them. Everywhere. As scary as that sounds, it can also be fairly enjoyable. I get to laugh and sing all day long if I want to. Cuddling precious babies is part of my job description, and something I was made to do.

One of my favorite things about spending time with this age group, whether it be in my work setting, with friends and their children, or in the nursery at church, is when they teach me. I was recently reflecting on this as I sat on the floor while the babies napped. Worn out from the busy morning, there was such a peace and calmness about them. The love that I have for all of them and the joy that they bring me was so precious in that moment. This was giving me another picture of God and how much He loves His children.

As they continued napping, I began looking at my life and realized how tired I was and how much I desired to rest; rest from running to one meeting and another or reaching the next deadline. A life over-booked and filled up with lots of stuff, (even good stuff), wears us out without allowing time for rest.

Children are so trusting. It’s like they know they are safe. They love to sit in someone’s lap and be bounced around. Their life is an adventure. They are so courageous and seemingly fearless. They love and love to be loved. Having a child-like faith became so tangible to me that day.

This is how God sees us! This is the kind of relationship He wants with His children! He sees us as courageous and calls us out of fear. He desires our trust, the pure trust of a child who knows that everything is good because we are in God’s hands. As strange as it may seem sometimes to imagine yourself sitting in God’s lap or letting Him hug you, it’s such an exciting thought. We are His children and He is longing for this relationship. He is not too busy to love on us! He wants us to rest in Him, in His holy presence.

Think about it. How often do we just need to slow down and say yes to Jesus. How much more do we need to just spend some time just being with Him? What would our lives be like if we find that courage and place of adventure? I want to find out, are you in?

The LORD your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves.
He will take great delight in you, in his love he will no longer rebuke you, but will rejoice over you with singing” Zephaniah 3:17

