Seeing From God’s Perspective

by Julie

“Be Thou My Vision” is one of my favorite songs. Really it’s the cry of my heart. For me, this last year has been all about vision. Not my vision, but His vision. I have learned what it means to see myself the way the Lord sees me. I have also learned to see others the way that He sees them. I have begun to see what God is doing in my life and in the lives of the people around me. I have learned to dream with God and set goals that are God sized. His vision has brought me through each season I’ve been in.

I have been on a journey of seeing from His perspective. We can only do this if we are seeking Him. If our eyes are fixed on Jesus, He is sure to meet us. The first step to having God’s vision is to ask Him for it. Imagine how different life would be if we were all asking God how He sees our circumstances. That would affect our attitudes and our decisions. Our lives would be different if we could see ourselves as God sees us. If we asked God how he saw our loved ones, imagine the restoration that could happen in families. If we really started to seek God to show us how he sees our enemies, I am confident we would see amazing partnerships in bringing the Kingdom to earth. The possibilities are endless. Once we start seeing with God’s eyes, our whole perspective changes! I think that this is part of seeking first the kingdom of God. (Matthew 6)

So I encourage you to give it a try if you haven’t already. Ask God to show you how He sees you. Ask Him how He sees a family member or a friend whom you may not have a good relationship with. Ask Him how He views your city, your job, or your school. Bring your circumstances before Him and begin to see His intentions for those situations. If we ask, He is faithful to answer! It’s exciting to live life like this. Sometimes it’s challenging, but it’s definitely worth it. Life is much more beautiful when you are looking through God’s eyes.

