Being A Part Of The Promise

by Julie

Isn’t it amazing that we have a God who is faithful to His promises? He does what He says he will do!

It says in 1 Corinthians 1:9 “God will do this, for he is faithful to do what he says, and he has invited you into partnership with his Son, Jesus Christ our Lord.” Because our relationship with the Lord is a partnership we have the privilege not to just wait in faith but to be a part of those promises.

Recently the Lord promised that He would begin to restore some of the relationships in my life. I was encouraged because that was heavy on my heart and such a desire of mine. Within minutes I could think of several relationships that were in that process. I have held on to this promise but it wasn’t until recently that I realized my part in the promise. It was a few days before Thanksgiving and I really felt the need to reach out to my sister with some words of encouragement. I let her know that I missed her but was excited about what’s going on in her life. As I ended the text message with an “I love you,” I smiled as the Lord confirmed that it takes things like that, even just a small step, to bring about that promise.

As if that is not exciting enough, Paul tells us that God can do far more abundantly than we can ever ask or imagine. I saw the reality of that in this promise. Not only was He restoring broken relationships, He was enhancing current ones. He began to also work in my heart and call me into deeper relationship with Him. In one word from the Lord that seemed small at first I have found that He really does go beyond our expectations.

Can you think of a promise that God has given you personally? Can you think of a way to get involved with this promise? Ask the Lord to reveal your part in the promise. Remember that it was the Lord who promised this to you and He will be the one that will carry it to completion but you get to be a part of that process! Take part in what He is doing and see how much bigger it is than you thought!

