Always Choose C

by Rob Dunne

One year ago I lost my job. It has been a trying time that has required me to lean heavily on the Lord. At times I ask, “What can I do or what resources do I have available to help in this situation?” Every time I choose Jesus as my response; He proves Himself incredibly generous!

Examples of God’s faithfulness include $2,000 in Whole Foods gift cards, $100 in Stop & Shop gift cards, $500 cash in the mail and $4,000 cash. All of this was completely anonymous! In addition, our COBRA health insurance was paid for three months. While organizing our basement, I found paperwork from my old company indicating that I had a savings plan with $3,500 in it.

In Luke 9, Jesus sent the apostles out to preach the gospel and heal the sick. After returning, He took them to a deserted place for some rest. The multitude, starving for truth, managed to track them down. Ever gracious, Jesus taught them about the Kingdom of God and healed the sick.

Recognizing that the day was quickly ending, the apostles suggested that Jesus send the multitude away so that they could get dinner. In typical fashion, Jesus suggested that the apostles feed them. This situation was seemingly impossible. How on earth were they going to feed five thousand plus people?

When faced with a problem, often our response is to look at the resources currently available to us. For the apostles, they could a) buy bread to feed the five thousand or b) somehow feed the masses with five loaves and two fish. Completely lacking from their choices was option c) Christ.

The apostles’ response to the dilemma baffles me. Hours earlier, they had returned from a trip in which Jesus gave them authority to cast out demons and heal the sick. During a recent boating excursion across the lake, Jesus bailed them out by rebuking the wind and the waves. Curiously, they didn’t factor Jesus into the equation when He suggested they feed the multitude.

There have been countless times over the last twelve months when I was tempted to rely on my own resources to get me out of trouble. Though it has been difficult, I have worked hard to lean on God rather than trust in myself. As the numerous gifts attest, God feeds us with manna on a daily basis.

Are you facing what appears to be an insurmountable situation? If so, look beyond your resources and choose option c). Christ is faithful and will always come through for you if you allow him.

