A Planting of the Lord

by Dawn Aldrich

Today’s guest post is written by Dawn Speer, a blossoming writer full of God’s splendor.

In light of Mandy Adendorff’s prophetic words this past Sunday, Dawn’s article is timely. Note, she submitted this post for review a week prior to hearing Mandy’s word. Thank you,  Dawn for listening to God’s heart and sharing the words He planted in your heart.

“They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the Lord for the display of his splendor.” Isaiah 61:3b

 This summer I held little hope for my pitiful roses with their brittle branches and sparse, black spotted leaves.  What good could come from these ugly plants?  Not knowing what to do with these poor little bushes, I simply ignored them and left them alone in my backyard garden.  A couple of weeks later, to my surprise, my husband spotted a rose bud. Within a week that tiny bud bloomed into glorious fullness.  Its delicate petals held a blush shade of pink and its sweet fragrance was a delight to my nose.  In the midst of my joy I thought, as quickly as this delicate bud bloomed certainly it will quickly fade. But it didn’t. It stood strong even through harshest rain and winds.

Have you ever felt like the ugly rose; thought your sin must be as obvious as the black spotted leaves? Has your hope run out wondering if God would use you dressed in all your ugliness? 

We all face times when we feel as brittle as my pitiful roses when we can’t muster enough strength to get out of bed, let alone fight through life’s winds and rains. When we feel weak and sickly, unable to bloom, God is there.  It is through His power we are saved, able to resist temptations. 

And when we fail? He promises to forgive our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness. He remembers our sin no longer and nor should we. Our spots are removed and then we bloom! 

Isaiah 61:3 says, “He has the power and authority to bestow on us a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair. They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the Lord for the display of his splendor.”

 We might feel like ugly, brittle rose plants, but when our hearts seek after God he sees us as a display of his splendor.   

What does God’s splendor look like?  Revelation 4:2 describes it this way: 

“… before me was a throne in heaven, with someone sitting on it.  And the one who sat there had the appearance of jasper and carnelian. A rainbow, resembling an emerald, encircled the throne.”

 God says we are a planting for the display of His splendor. When we confess our weakness and admit our desperation for God we make room for His power and strength to work in and through us. 

 Prayer: Lord God I confess my sin to you and believe you when you say you will forgive me and cleanse me of all unrighteousness.  Lord help me to lay down the things that cause me my soul to be spotted like the rose leaves. Help me to see the fullness of your beauty in me and see myself as You do, “a planting for the display of Your splendor!

 

