Jesus Our Hope

by Julie

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peaceas you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” Romans 15:13

I’ve always loved Christmas. It’s such an exciting time of year! As a child, I remember the weeks before Christmas ushered in so much promise. All of the decorations and parties that filled my childhood home created such a fun atmosphere. Presents started pouring out from under the tree and happy music about reindeer and snow echoed throughout our home all day long.

But, the night before Christmas was the hardest. As my siblings and I experienced a sugar crash from unhealthy amounts of christmas cookies and hot cocoa, we fought sleep in anticipation of Christmas morning.

I chuckle looking back at those special memories with a thankful heart; thankful for those memories and looking forward to creating special times with my own family. I am most thankful though, that there is so much more to Christmas than what I experienced as a child.

We celebrate Christmas to remember the day that hope came alive. We rejoice because as promised, Jesus, the savior of the world, was born and hope filled the Earth!  Today, we still recognize God’s hope through Christ’s birth 2000 years ago, but we also live out this hope in our every day, ordinary and extraordinary days.

I can’t help but relate the true meaning of Christmas to my childhood view. I am thankful for the atmosphere that we can live hope-filled, joy-filled, peace-filled lives – even now – because of Jesus.

