Audience of One

by Dawn Aldrich

bathroom-scale-scales-only

Help me welcome fellow blogger and member of Wellspring Writers’ Group, Linda J. Maynard as she shares her humor and love for the Lord:

bathroom-scale-scales-only

Meanwhile, I’m sure you’re on my side—

no victory shouts yet from the enemy camp! You know me inside and out, you hold me together,

  you never fail to stand me tall in your presence so I can look you in the eye.

Psalm 41:11-12 (The Message)

I saw a picture of a bathroom scale in a Women’s Magazine, with these words beneath the scale:

WARNING

The numbers on this scale will not tell you…

…How kind you are

…How smart and talented you are

…How much you are loved

“Wow!” I thought, “That’s a powerful message.”

Many people, as the year began, purposed to lose weight. It is the #1 resolution in the U.S.  We can’t ignore the fact that many can stand to lose weight and eat healthier. Yet, this little message zeroed in on something else. The focus of outward appearances permeates our society in such a deep way. And, we in the church are not immune to putting too much value on outer appearances.

Dwelling on the approval of others or the nod of society, will always have us glance away from the very One whom we should honor and please.

Along with that, is not only a personal internal war, but a general disdain among our society about aging. Wrinkles have to be smoothed and anything else that we deem needs perks and adjustments can be altered. If you have the money and the obsession, you can achieve a transformation easily.

This results in a mantra inside many of us says “I am not acceptable. I am not good enough. I am not young enough. I am not perfect” and the, “I am not (fill in the blank)” can go on ad infinitum.

Imagine instead of mere resolutions, that we join a revolution. A revolution that could alter the face of our society.

What if we…

Forgave a person…the applause of heaven would fill the air

Avoided a besetting sin…we would hear enthusiastic heavenly claps

Shared the gospel…flags would wave and horns would blow in heaven

Gave sacrificially…whoops and cheers would arise among the cloud of witnesses.

Honored the Lord in all things…the Lord Himself would stand and take notice and say “My children you have chosen the better thing.”

 

Lord, we want to please only You. You are our Audience of One . You accept every part of us. Even in that Lord, help us not to perform with scripted lines, but rather act as ones who have internalized the very Good News Story of Your love. You are the Star of the show. Woo us and embrace us, as we walk and talk and dance and flow in sync with You. In that place, let us never forget the lines that You whisper sweetly into our ears.

