Crucified With Christ

by Rob Dunne

churchsteeple“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” Galatians 2:20

The door closed loudly behind me. I walked up the stairs and passed into the narthex. A muscular looking gentleman with glasses warmly greeted me and handed me a bulletin. Looking into the sanctuary, I noticed the bright red carpet and baby blue walls. I thought, “What have I gotten myself into?”

As the service started, we spent the next twenty minutes singing unfamiliar worship songs. Though the lyrics were repetitive, my recall was poor. In all the previous years that I had attended church, I was embarrassed to sing. Here, the congregation was singing with passion. It was so moving that I couldn’t resist joining in.

At the conclusion of worship, the assistant pastor encouraged us to greet those around us. Again, the greeting was warm. Following the announcements, the pastor got up to speak. Was this going to be business as usual or was I about to hear something engaging? Three points and forty-five short minutes later, I knew I was where I belonged. Never before had I heard the Bible taught in such a way. Now, Sunday service was not obligatory. Rather, it was something I looked forward to weekly.

Moments like this help define who we become. Coupled with our individual reading time, the Holy Spirit uses pastors to teach us what the Bible says. Ultimately, the goal is for us to be like Jesus. The hope is that He becomes so prevalent in us that we are no longer recognizable.

Becoming like Christ is a process and a long one at that. Every day, we must give place to Jesus on the throne of our lives. In those moments when we forget that we bear the image of our Maker, seek forgiveness and surrender control once again. Remember the time when you first fell in love with Jesus and allow that passion to rekindle the fire that always burns inside your heart. Allow the Holy Spirit to make you new.

The day I stepped into that little brick building with the white steeple, my life became new and I was radically changed. No longer do I live for myself. Rather, I live life for the One who gave Himself for me. Whom do you live life for?

To learn more about Rob Dunne, please visit our Contributors Page.

