Whose Authority?

by ivyjonah

authorityby Linda J. Maynard

“When Jesus had called the Twelve together, he gave them power and authority to drive out all demons and to cure diseases, and he sent them out to proclaim the kingdom of God and to heal the sick.” Luke 9:1-2 NIV

This morning I was looking at a picture of a police officer, thinking about the authority he has been granted. He didn’t one day decide he has the “right” to arrest people, stop speeding drivers etc. No, he joined the force, received training, passed the requirements and was given a uniform and a firearm. His uniform is an outward sign of authority, which is backed by the laws of our land. We acknowledge his power and authority to carry out his duties.

But what if He woke up every day put on his uniform and did nothing?

Like the police, authority has been given to all believers by the ultimate authority, Jesus Christ. He has given us ALL authority to trample on demons and to cure diseases (Luke 7:8…Matt 10:11).  And where did He say His authority comes from? He said it’s from His Father (John 10:18).

 My question is this:  Are we believers in agreement with what the Word of God says about our given authority?

 I have to admit, when I first read about the authority of the believer, I skimmed over it. I thought, “I am not reading this right.” However, in the process of accepting God’s Word as truth, I  made a decision to press into ALL that the Lord has given to me through His death on the cross.  I don’t want to just “wear the uniform” of a Christian, I want to exercise all the authority I have been given by Jesus Christ. I want to say with confidence and with faith, “I am Linda, a child of the Living God. And like  Jesus, do what He did, by His Father’s authority.”

This messes with me – my set ways of thinking – and I wonder, “who am I to be given such authority?”  But the Lord stretches me – stretches all of us – so that our knowledge of the Truth expands until we see things from God’s kingdom perspective. It ‘s scary to see things God’s way, sometimes. But today, I submit to His truth about my authority. How about you? Are you willing to believe and walk in the authority given you by Jesus himself?

“‘Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father'” (John 14:12).

To learn more about Linda, please visit our Contributors Page.

