Living from Above

by Julie

On a road trip up the coast of California leading us to a Lake in Montana, a good friend of mine and I found ourselves in deep conversation. We had been driving for hours to meet another friend of ours for a retreat in her family’s cabin. It was the dead of Winter and the coldest I’ve ever been. We talked about what we give our attention to and the kinds of thoughts that run through our mind most often. We had been talking a lot about the book of Colossians when we came across this gem:

Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds in things above, not on earthly things (3:1-2).

As if this trip wasn’t already an adventure, we were in for a bigger one than we imagined. We were face to face with the reality of knowing our hearts and minds were to be aligned with Jesus.

That’s not where I was living. I was burnt out and offended. Everything I was praying for wasn’t happening. I was wasting my time looking at my circumstances and spent a lot less time asking God for His view. My life looked like the things I worried about. What I was focusing on I was living in. Thankfully by the end of this tear filled and intense conversation, I was encouraged in ways I had never experienced before.

Knowing that we are raised with Christ, we have access to Him and to His point of view,which is above our circumstances. We have the freedom to dream with the Lord and find new hope. We are able to let go of our agendas and ask what He wants. We begin to see Christ in us and that allows us to make steps into seeing His perspective.

We have a choice when it comes to how we view the world around us. We can choose to see our circumstances for what they look like or we can choose to see it from the Lord’s view. What we see as a setback may actually be opportunity. Where we see brokenness, He wants to restore. We can focus on all of the bad around us, making it impossible to see the good in anything. When we shift our focus and move to a heavenly perspective peace and freedom will follow. When we set our hearts and minds on the things above, where Christ is at the right hand of God, that’s where we will live.

