A God Who Loves Enough

by ivyjonah

So if the Son liberates you [makes you free men], then you are really and unquestionably free…”

John 8:36 AMP

One day it dawned on me, the story of the prodigal son found in Luke 15,  is everyone’s story. But sometimes it has differing results.

The father chose to “let his son go.” He did not restrain him even though he suspected that his son would travel destructive roads. His Love never shackled his son or held him prisoner in his own home. He surrendered his son and allowed him the freedom of choice. It’s like that between us and God, isn’t it?

I use to think that my surrendering meant I’d be trapped in some kind of robotic life. I didn’t like my life, but God’s invitation to surrender my life scared me. But what I discovered was that the more I surrendered the freer I became.  God has truly given us free will to reject or accept the true freedom that He has wrought for us on the cross through his son Jesus. We will not have to fear that we will be turned into robots, controlled by some outside force. Rather than losing freedom, it is the very thing we obtain.

Freedom in Christ is no longer bound by the Law. It is then, that we have true freedom to “let go” of the sin that holds us captive and enter the freedom God offers. It is then, that we discover who God created us to be; truly free.

God is all-powerful, yet He uses restraint.
He waits.
He looks.
He hopes.

And upon our return, he runs to us, embraces us, welcomes us HOME and dresses us in his finest robes. Our past is just that – past. He celebrates our home-coming and that’s all that matters to a Father such as this.

Lord, in each case, whether we have never accepted you as Lord and Savior or if we have been with you a long time, you clearly give us a choice for freedom. “I put before you, LIFE and DEATH…Choose LIFE!” This day I choose life.

