Citizens of Heaven

by Rob Dunne

For our citizenship is in heaven, from which we also eagerly wait for the Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ.” Philippians 3:20

Truly, it was a magical kingdom. Some of my favorite book and movie characters roamed freely throughout the park. We soared above London and through Neverland on a pirate ship. Space was explored within the confines of a metal mountain. Presidents long dead were resurrected to share their stories. Bears played foot stomping music in a jamboree. Children of all races reminded us that it in spite of its massive size, we live in a small world after all.

One of the greatest vacations my parents ever planned for us included a visit to my grandparents in Florida and a trip to Disney. It was everything I imagined it would be and more. Reflecting on it now as an adult, Disney brings me back to the innocence that was my childhood. There were few if any cares in my world back then. Disbelief was easily suspended. It was such a happy place. If only Disney was a country that you could immigrate to permanently.

While Disney excited me as a child, the prospect of going to heaven cannot be defined with words. Over the years, I have expressed this longing to go to heaven to other people. More often than not, this statement is met with disbelief. Let me be clear. In stating that I long for heaven, I am not proclaiming that I want my life here on earth to end. Rather, I am acknowledging that the benefits of heaven far outweigh anything that life here on planet Earth has to offer.

What do we have to look forward to in heaven? First of all, we will have intimacy with God the Father, Jesus and the Holy Spirit on a level that no human being has ever experienced. God is love and we will feel that love in ways that our minds cannot comprehend. The bodies we possess will be replaced with glorified ones that do not break down. Never again will we face our own mortality or the prospect of losing loved ones. Pain and sadness will be a thing of the past. In fact, I suspect that we will forget what it was like altogether. The affects of sin will be nonexistent.

The daily news is filled with discouragement. From Sandy Hook to hurricane Sandy to the Middle East, we are constantly reminded that the world is filled with pain, loss and destruction. Understanding that we are citizens of heaven reminds us that better days are ahead of us. The days of innocence we once enjoyed as children will resume when Jesus reigns over the Earth as King of kings and Lord of lords.

“He who testifies to these things says, ‘Surely I am coming quickly.’ Amen. Even so, come, Lord Jesus!” Revelation 22:20.

Does His imminent return excite you as much as it does me? I hope so!

