Hide ‘n Seek

by Dawn Aldrich

hide-and-seek

You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,’ declares the Lord…

Jeremiah 29:13-14

His toddler feet pedal past me resting only when he’s found a suitable hiding place behind the rungs of a dining room chair – the one his daddy usually occupies. Through uncontainable giggles he yells, “Come find me, Grams!”

Playing along, I seek him out behind curtains, under the couch, around corners and with every failed attempt he squeals, “I’m here, Grams! I’m here!”

Amused by his own clever hiding skills he’s more excited about being found than staying hidden. His heart soars when I finally spot his big blue eyes twinkling between the rungs of his hiding place and he runs to catch my embrace as I announce, “I found you!”

There’s something about that pursuit that thrills this little boy – the hope that the one he loves adores him enough to seek him until he’s found. He anticipates the reunion with overwhelming, uncontainable joy. Kids get it. Their wanting to be discovered rather than staying hidden; the joy of the reunion and the thrill of a loving relationship.

The pursuit of the seeker brings great joy to God’s heart, too. Knowing those He loves adore Him enough to seek him, pursue His presence until they find Him and run into His arms. The thing is, like a toddler, God never really hides where he can’t be found. He’s right there in the open room calling, “Come find me. I’m here. I’m over here.”

So, how do we find an invisible God?

Unlike seeking a giggling toddler, we don’t have to run too far or look under the couch. We simply have to sit still; be still in our physical being and breathe, “Come, Lord Jesus, come.” Then, listen and wait. This may seem awkward at first, but listening and waiting are the most crucial steps in hearing from God. As we sit silent before God,  we prepare our hearts to hear the Holy Spirit. Thoughts may pop into our heads or God may give us a picture or a single word. Always, these exchanges from God’s Holy Spirit encourage, instruct and comfort–never condemn.

These thoughts, words, pictures reveal God’s loving intent toward us. These words are worth recording. Why? When God spoke through his prophets in the Old Testament, he would instruct them to write His words down so that His people would know His intent for them from generation to generation. I think recording God’s personal word-gifts are just as important to us today, even if they are meant for our eyes (hearts) only. Having a physical, visual reference of God’s love and intent for us, His instruction for our lives, His personal love letters for our hearts will spur us on in our faith journey.

Will you thrill the Master’s heart and seek Him out today? He’s waiting to lavish His love on you.

See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! 1 John 3:1

Blessings on your day,

Dawn

To learn more about Dawn, please visit our Contributors Page.

