God is Love

by Rob Dunne

Man-Journaling

And we have known and believed the love that God has for us. God is love, and he who abides in love abides in God, and God in him. 1 John 4:16

The rigorous three mile hike cleared my mind. As the trail leveled out, I looked for the familiar marking I etched on the birch tree designating where to depart from the foot path. Climbing down to the small outcropping, I settled on to my “rock seat.” Still cool water slaked my thirst as I wiped sweat from my brow.

Lifting my gaze skyward, air foils carried birds of prey in wide circles. I reached inside my backpack and fumbled for my journal and pen.  The page filled while my mind emptied itself of life’s distractions. Slowly, Father God ministered to my heart while I dare asked, “How am I doing, Daddy? Am I living a life pleasing to you?”  That still small voice answered, “Well done, good and faithful servant.”

It is comforting to know that God chooses to speak to us in a still small voice. Like Elijah, He could have chosen to pass by and have a great and strong wind tear into the mountain and break the rocks in pieces. Or, he could have chosen to speak through fire. Had these been His mode of communication, I would have either tumbled a hundred feet to the ground below or found myself trying to out run the raging forest fire. I was relieved He chose the still small voice and not the wind or fire.

My main love language is encouraging words. Years ago, I was taught to personalize the Word of God by substituting the pronoun for my name. For instance, in the story of the prodigal son, I changed the wording as follows: “Rob, when you were still a great way off, I, your heavenly father,  saw you and had compassion, and ran and fell on your neck and kissed you.” This practice allows God to speak encouraging words over me.  My heart soars when I hear that I am a good and faithful servant, that Jesus loves me and that He is my friend.  Those words of love are contained throughout the Bible and can be used to speak to us on many levels.

God’s love for each of us is real. The bible says that we can know His love for us. This knowledge comes from reading His Word and taking the time to be in His Presence. By clearing your mind and heart, you allow space for your heavenly Father to speak to you. He can also love you through other people when they spend time with you, help you with a project or give you flowers.

How is Daddy loving you today?

To learn more about Rob Dunne, please visit our Contributors Page.

