God’s Love Through Us

by Rob Dunne

Guatemala Pc (2)

I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. John 14:18

The humid Guatemalan air caused my t-shirt to cling to my body. Hours of mixing and hauling buckets of concrete dotted my skin with “fifty shades of grey.” None of this mattered to my little friend whose eyes opened wide as I came in to view. Instantly, her arms raised above her head, anticipating our embrace. Human interaction was a rare commodity for someone lost in a sea of orphans.

Malnutrition and lack of medical care had twisted her four-year-old legs. Constant dragging across dirt-covered floors left her bare feet filthy and scabbed. In spite of her circumstances, her smile was radiant. Spending time with her was one of the many highlights of my week at the nutrition hospital.

Time stood still as I entertained my little friend. Though my limited Spanish made verbal communication difficult, we easily understood one another. I pushed her around on a little plastic car as shouts of laughter echoed off the concrete walls of the open air porch. One of her favorite games was to hold my hands and walk her twisted legs up the length of my body to my shoulders. I would flip her over and gently place her bare feet back on the tiled ground. To my great horror, one trip led to blackened toes going into my mouth. Thank goodness for the blood of Jesus!

One of the greatest gifts of the Christian life is that we are indwelt with the Holy Spirit. That indwelling gives us a greater capacity to love others because the Holy Spirit pours the love of Father God into our hearts. As that love overflows, we cannot help but love the world around us, regardless of how filthy they may appear on the outside. Hidden deep inside is a glorious treasure waiting to burst free.

There is a lyric from a song that I find poignant. It says, “God put a million, million doors for His love to walk through, one of those doors is you.” (With Every Act of Love – Jason Gray)  People are hurting. They need a touch from their heavenly Father to remind them that they have not been orphaned. God can use us to be that loving touch. This can be literal or metaphorical. Playing with an orphaned child, a friendly word of encouragement to your cashier at the grocery store or listening to an elderly person regale you with tales from their glory days are examples of God’s love walking through the door that is your life.

As you prepare to face the day today, remember to love God and love others. I promise the blessing you receive will be greater than the one you give!

