Falling in Love with the Father

by Rob Dunne

worshipinrain

“When the Advocate comes, whom I will send to you from the Father—the Spirit of truth who goes out from the Father—he will testify about me.” John 15:26 

The sky was grey but not quite threatening. Trees swayed rhythmically causing tiny waves to dance upon the reservoir. A concrete retaining wall provided a not so comfortable seat to soak up my surroundings. The altitude wasn’t high enough for this to be a mountain top experience, however, God’s weighty Presence was tangible in what was one of my favorite spots to commune with Him.

I sat for an hour as He poured out His love over me. He said things like, “Well done, good and faithful servant” and “You are my beloved son in whom I am well pleased.” Surprisingly, He also gave me a new name. “Your name is ‘David,’” He said. “What does that mean?” I asked. “Does that mean I am a leader of men? Have you given me the heart of a worshiper? Am I a man after your own heart?” It has been several years and I am still working through this one with Him.

Lacking an answer, I began the trek back to my car. Though He had poured out so much over me already, I wasn’t done. The words to the song “Let it Rain” filled my mind. As my heart cried, “Open the floodgates of heaven”, a drop of literal rain fell on my face. I lifted my hands and face heavenward. With each step, the rain increased. Moments later it became a torrent. Soon the mixing of tears and rain became imperceptible as the Holy Spirit poured out increasing measures of God’s love over my heart. I felt like I could literally fly over the tops of the pine trees lining the path back to the parking lot.

That day at the reservoir was one of the most powerful encounters I have had with the Father. His voice was crystal clear and His Presence was more of a reality than the ground under my feet. That encounter was possible because of the hunger that I had on the inside of me to seek His face. Being with Him in the early stages of my journey was like falling in love with my wife Kellie. I thought about Him all the time and longed to get alone so I could spend time with Him. It was magical.

One of the greatest gifts that Jesus gave us when He died and rose again is the Holy Spirit. His death and resurrection made it possible for the very Spirit of God to take up residence in our hearts. Through the Holy Spirit, we have fellowship with God the Father and Jesus. We can literally talk to God spirit to Spirit. Sending Jesus to Earth was God’s way of restoring our ability to relate to Him on an intimate and personal level. It is an incredible reality!

Father, thank you for the gift of your Holy Spirit. Help us to put aside anything in our lives that interferes with giving you our undivided attention. Give us ears to hear and eyes to see all that you are saying and doing. Pour out your love in our hearts in such great measure that it overflows and impacts the lives of everyone that we encounter. Thanks for being such an amazing Daddy! 

