Overwhelmed

by Dawn Aldrich

Countryroads

“See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are!” 1 John 3:1 NIV

I took the winding country roads through the farmlands one summer morning. It was my favorite route to my mother’s house during the warmer months, where I could slow down and enjoy the picturesque views of vineyards and corn fields, red barns, white farm houses and open pastures dotted with dairy cows and few horses.

Windows open wide, the sun flashed hot across my face and arms that day as the scenery warmed my heart to God’s majesty, beauty and power. With every bend and corner, gratitude welled up inside until worship spilled easily from my lips. My voice rose high above Pandora’s stream and it seemed all of creation was raising its head to sing God’s praises. It was a glorious, picture-perfect day.

But beyond the scenery, there was something so very different about the day. It wasn’t just a feel-good experience of worship. In fact I’m finding it difficult to explain, except suffice it to say, God showed up…or maybe I finally noticed He was there with me. His presence completely overwhelmed me, like God was wooing me, courting me, asking me to love Him like no other. I’d never experienced the wooing of God before, but felt at that moment God knew me completely, loved me deeply, unconditionally, and forever. And at that moment, I fell in love with God, too.

Oh, I’d been a Christian most of my life, since I was a little girl, but I could never say that I was in love with God. You know when you fall in love with someone, how you feel known and loved for exactly who you are and how you love exactly who they are? God made me feel loved like that and more. It was as though He loved me for who He knew I would become through Him; like He was trying to express a love for the me He couldn’t wait to meet; a love like no other could ever express because they couldn’t know the created me.

The Psalmist describes it this way:

For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.
My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place,
    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed body;
    all the days ordained for me were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.
How precious to me are your thoughts, God! 

How vast is the sum of them!

Were I to count them,
    they would outnumber the grains of sand—
    when I awake, I am still with you. Psalm 139:13-18 NIV

Have you ever experienced God’s love this way; the being wooed and courted? Maybe, like me, you struggled to “fall in love” with God, but you desire more than anything to know God loves you and knows you–knows the you He created–completely. Then commit to asking God for more of Him. Take that day trip to a place where you feel closest to God. Invite Him to invade you space and show you how very much He loves you. All He asks is for a willing heart.

