I Am Not a Worrier. I Am a Warrior.

by mymorethanme

womanworshiping

I am not a worrier. I am a warrior.

How quickly we can plummet from the pinnacle of peace to the precipice of pandemonium.

We look at the Israelites and wonder how they ever could have doubted, complained, looked back. God had just miraculously saved them, parted the sea, led and fed them, and still they had the gall to grumble, grouse, murmur and moan. Really?

Yes, really. I hate to say it, but I get those Israelites. Our God, to whom my husband and I surrendered our lives and hearts, who saved us, parted the sea, led us and fed us, endured a flood of fear flowing from my heart and out my mouth this week. For years the Lord has spoken to us, directed and protected us, provided for us, loved us, and now, on the brink of a brand new blow-our-minds blessing I fall face first into fear and stagger away an amnesiac.

Thankfully my condition, while intense, was short-lived.

“You’re not a worrier. You’re a warrior.”

My husband spoke these words to me, stirring my memory and snapping me out of my stupor.

No unbelief or distrust made him waver (doubtingly question) concerning the promise of God, but he grew strong and was empowered by faith as he gave praise and glory to God, fully satisfied and assured that God was able and mighty to keep His word and do what He had promised (Romans 4:20-21).

Our God gives life to the dead and speaks of the nonexistent things He has foretold and promised as if they already are.

I am a warrior. The battle is fought in the heavenlies and in the space between my ears. We’ve been given an arsenal of weapons, the greatest of which is love. Love has never and will never fail. I won this week when, dropping to my knees, I confessed lusting after the blessing and returned to simply, singularly loving the Blesser. We are granted perfect peace when our hearts are set not on gifts, but the Giver. Not on promises, but the Promiser.

The Lord knows the end from the beginning.

He has a plan.

He has a way.

He is the Way.

Looking back it’s easy to see Father’s hand guiding, leading, shielding, guarding. Loving, comforting, carrying, aligning. He’s not going to leave now. Oh no, He will never leave us or forsake us. Dipping’s not His style.

Breathe and rest and trust and know.

May Christ through your faith [actually] dwell (settle down, abide, make His permanent home) in your hearts! May you be rooted deep in love and founded securely on love,

That you may have the power and be strong to apprehend and grasp with all the saints [God’s devoted people, the experience of that love] what is the breadth and length and height and depth [of it];

 [That you may really come] to know [practically, through experience for yourselves] the love of Christ, which far surpasses mere knowledge [without experience]; that you may be filled [through all your being] unto all the fullness of God [may have the richest measure of the divine Presence, and become a body wholly filled and flooded with God Himself]!

 Now to Him Who, by (in consequence of) the [action of His] power that is at work within us, is able to [carry out His purpose and] do superabundantly, far over and above all that we [dare] ask or think [infinitely beyond our highest prayers, desires, thoughts, hopes, or dreams]—

 To Him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations forever and ever. Amen (so be it). Ephesians 3:17-21

