Love Me

by Dawn Aldrich

“Your unfailing love will last forever. Your faithfulness is as enduring as the heavens.” Psalm 89:2 NLT

“I need someone to love me!” she shouts impatiently from her princess toddler bed.

“I’ll be right there,” Mama reassures her, “as soon as I lay your baby brother down.”

Oh isn’t that the cry of everyone’s heart? Toddler princess or not, we selfishly desire love–an all-knowing, unfailing, soul-deep love. We crave attention, reassurance that our existence matters; that who we are in this great big world makes a difference to someone

Mama finally arrives and kneels beside her bed.

“My heart is so full of love, Mama, so I need to love you,” the toddler princess explains. “And, I need someone to love me.”

Isn’t that the way unfailing love cycles? Love fills and spills and fills again – without fail – without fear. Perfect love never fails.

Through reassuring whispers and gentle strokes, Mama’s hands run through her hair until the princess toddler’s breath falls into a peaceful rhythm. Mama’s love expels her fears and sleep comes for perfect love casts out all fears.

“Such love has no fear, because perfect love expels all fear.” 1 John 4:18

If Mama loves her little girl with such perfect love, how much more does our heavenly Papa love us? How perfect is His love for us that casts out fears much greater than the monsters under our princess beds? How much more can he fill our hearts with an everlasting, unfailing love – a love that always satisfies, always fills to overflowing?

Heavenly Papa,

Love me, today. Fill my heart with your perfect love. Fill my heart to overflowing that your love spills onto those around me. Become the object of my love, God, so that when I love, it’s you they see, not me. Amen.

