Let It Rain!

by Rob Dunne

Be glad then, you children of Zion, And rejoice in the Lord your God; For He has given you the former rain faithfully, And He will cause the rain to come down for you— The former rain, And the latter rain in the first month. Joel 2:23

When I moved to New York City, I got rid of my car. It was too expensive to keep and public transportation is easily accessible. When my new boss told me that we had a court appearance out on Staten Island, I said to myself, “No problem. I will take the ferry and catch a bus to the courthouse. Piece of cake!” Then the rain came.

Normally, the ferry was a smooth ride. After all, we were only crossing New York Harbor. That day, the storm was rocking the boat back and forth like an exhausted mother desperate to get her crying child back to sleep. Thankfully, I am not one to get sea sick so it was no problem. Once we reached the shore, I quickly hopped on a bus and headed to court.

Genuine concern arose as the bus wound its way across the island. Streams of water were running down the street. Reaching the bottom of one hill, I saw numerous cars submerged under water. My body pulsed as though an unseen drummer was beating on my heart with all his might. When I finally arrived at the courthouse, I was told that they were closing due to the weather. It would have been nice to learn that before I got began this trek!

Rain can be our friend or our enemy. It is essential for vegetation to grow. Without it, our water supply would dry up. In Palestine where Jesus grew up, there were two cycles of rain- the former rain and the latter rain. The former rain would start as the farmers planted their crops. The latter rain came just prior to the harvest and helped plump up the wheat. Both rainy seasons were vital to the success of the crops.

God always has been and always will be the source of our provision. He is the one who provides the rain that waters the crops that ultimately give us food. I have a tendency to take credit for any success that I have in life. Upon reflection, I realize that God is the one who gave me the gifts, talents and abilities that I have in order to perform my job. He is the One who uniquely crafted me with a love for words and putting them together on a page in a way that makes people enjoy reading them (at least I hope they do!)

It is critically important that we acknowledge God as our source and provider. He alone deserves all of the credit for anything good that we have in our lives. After all, “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning” (James 1:17).

He is incredibly faithful and trustworthy. God is rock solid and He never changes. Thank Him today for meeting all of your needs.

Rain's Acomin' by Don Graham flickr-com_13111699453_fa33a3bb31_z.jpg

Rain’s Acomin’ by Don Graham flickr-com_13111699453_fa33a3bb31_z.jpg_CC BY-ND 4.0

 

