My Father, the farmer

by kerriebutterfield

Pruning by Peter Prehn Flickr.com_3335013028_e0e02bbfeb_z.jpg_ CC BY-ND 4.0

Pruning by Peter Prehn Flickr.com_3335013028_e0e02bbfeb_z.jpg_ CC BY-ND 4.0

“I am the Real Vine and my Father is the Farmer. He cuts off every branch of me that doesn’t bear grapes. And every branch that is grape-bearing he prunes back so it will bear even more. You are already pruned back by the message I have spoken.” John 15:5

On a beautiful, spring morning while we were living in Australia, the Lord woke me up early to go into the garden and prune the trees. He reminded me of the many times in church life I’ve heard, “pruning is painful, but the end result is more fruit.” I’ve always nodded in agreement and probably have said it a few times when someone was going through a painful trial that I could see God using to grow their character.

But, I felt Papa God correcting my perspective and heart in regards to pruning. He gave me a picture of a small child screaming and resisting as he was in a barbers chair. He then reminded me of something I said to my beautician just the day before. I said, “I trust you to make me look good.” He said, “pruning is painful when you resist, and don’t trust me. It’s restful when you trust my character and plans for you. Mature believers trust the pruning hands of Papa. They trust the vision of the Creator, and His promise to make us look like Him. The child -like believer is afraid and doesn’t know enough yet to trust Papa’s hands and intentions.”

Pruning is cutting away the dead branches that aren’t bearing fruit, but draining . Pruning brings life. It can be painful, but it doesn’t have to be. Trust and rest that He is shaping you into someone amazing! You will be more fruitful tomorrow than you are today. I believe it because He said it!

