Be Anxious For Nothing

by Rob Dunne

pleaseprayfor2bylongthlen_flickr-com_25993749282_2e4418c094_CC BY-ND 2.0

Please pray for2_by Long Thlen_flickr-com_25993749282_2e4418c094_CC BY-ND 2.0

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7

Things were not getting off to a very good start. Blood starting draining towards my head as the chair was tilted further and further back. The thumping in my chest increased when the syringe penetrated my gums. It is a curious thing to watch a dentist work. How is it that the needle seems to go that deeply in to your gums? Once it is in your gums, how are they able to move the needle around so much without removing it from your gums first?

Until recently, I didn’t realize that they put the stimulant epinephrine in the local anesthetic. I am quite sure that it didn’t help matters as my already rapid heart rate increased all the more. Even though my blood stream was being affected by a legitimate chemical reaction, I had something more powerful at my disposal.

As the doctor and his assistant left the room, I put the Word of God in to action. “I will be anxious for nothing, but in all things by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, I will make my requests known to God. And the peace of God which surpasses all understanding will guard my heart and mind through Christ Jesus.” Father, thank you that you take away all of my anxiety. I thank you that right now, Your peace is guarding my heart and mind. You are a good Father and you want good things for me.

Within moments, my heart rate began to slow. I kept thinking about Daddy God and His love for me. Quickly, I was flooded with peace and began to relax. The dentist returned and used a miniature jack hammer to remove an old filling. No matter – I was relaxed. Before I knew it, the dentist was done and I was walking out the door.

Let’s face it, there are too many things in this life that produce anxiety. If you watch the news for more than ten minutes, you will be convinced that the world is coming to an end and Jesus’ return is imminent. Life is stressful!

Fortunately, as believers in Jesus, we live in this world but are not part of it. God calls us His children and we get to experience the benefits of His kingdom in the here and now. When we take our God-given authority and use our words to speak to and over a situation, it changes things. When I am tempted to allow my circumstances to fill me with dread, I fall back on Philippians 4:6-7. It has helped calm me down more times than I can remember.

Are you facing what appears to be an insurmountable challenge in your life today? If so, take the Word of God and speak it over your circumstances. I promise you there is nothing too big for Jesus to overcome!

