Fear Not Little Flock

by Rob Dunne

by-wally-gobetz_flickr-com9274040749-ab97ca386e.jpg CC BY_ND 2.0

by-wally-gobetz_flickr-com9274040749-ab97ca386e.jpg CC BY_ND 2.0

“Thus says Cyrus king of Persia: ‘All the kingdoms of the earth the LORD God of heaven has given me. And He has commanded me to build Him a house at Jerusalem which is in Judah.’” Ezra 1:2

In addition to the exciting fact that I was now an adult, I remember two distinct things happening shortly after my 18th birthday: I registered to vote and registered for the selective service. At that time, Ronald Reagan was our president. When his two terms ended I watched him leave office. Don’t quote me on this, but I think I actually cried as he boarded Air Force One. I genuinely wanted him to stay for a third term. Given the eventual disclosure of his Alzheimer’s diagnosis, that would have been a horrible idea.

It is clear that we have never experienced an election cycle like the present one and by the time you read this, the nation will have made its choice and lots of people will be unhappy. Neither of the two candidates appeared to be a solid option. Both incited deep emotional feelings from the electorate including fear of what the future may hold.

In times of uncertainty, we have to trust that God is in control. We may not like the person that was chosen to be our next president. However, God can still use men and women in positions of power to accomplish His desired goal.

One of the many examples I can think of in the Old Testament is King Cyrus. “I will raise up Cyrus in my righteousness: I will make all his ways straight. He will rebuild my city and set my exiles free, but not for a price or reward, says the LORD Almighty” (Isaiah 45:13).  Cyrus was a pagan ruler that God used to rebuild Jerusalem and help restore the Israelites back to their native country. He also used Cyrus to restore the temple, the center of worship amongst the Jewish people.

Even if everything around us appears to be falling apart, we need to know that God is for us and He will continue to meet our daily needs. Humanity’s best efforts to solve the world’s problems will always fall short of the mark. Therefore, we shouldn’t rely on politicians to solve our problems. Rather, we need to turn our eyes to God whose wisdom far surpasses ours. Only He can solve the world’s problems. In the same way that He used Cyrus to help the children of Israel, God can use the newly elected president of the United States to accomplish great things, even if we can’t conceive of it right now. So fear not little flock; God is and will always be in control!

