A Promise: as good as the Promise Maker

by kerriebutterfield

pinky-promise-by-kennysarmy_flickr-com_5723186334_d6d7728e0c_CC BY-ND 2.0

pinky-promise-by-kennysarmy_flickr-com_5723186334_d6d7728e0c_CC BY-ND 2.0

I had a spiritual breakdown eight years ago. Riddled with disappointment and anger with God for not doing what He promised,  I became  weary of waiting for God’s goodness. I couldn’t pray, or if I did, my prayers were filled with bitterness, sadness, and despair.

In the midst of teaching  others that God spoke, healed and saved, we witnessed our friends die of cancer and we struggled financially. I was  doing the “right stuff’ but things weren’t  working out “right”. It wasn’t until after a traumatic event that  I realized all this and I found myself losing hope.

A few weeks later, home alone with my miserable self, I  heard Papa God say to me, “A promise is  as good as the person who makes it. You believe I am good for others, but you don’t believe I am good for you. I want to give you unshakeable faith in my goodness. I am going to astound you with my goodness so that you truly know that I am good.”

He was right. I had anchored my faith in my circumstances rather than in God’s nature and goodness. When good things happened I believed He was good but when my circumstances turned bad and I reached the end of myself; my faith  blew away like a leaf  in the wind. I simply let go of His promise.  The wonderful thing about Papa God is when we do reach the end of ourselves, He is right there ready to pick us up and do the heavy lifting for us. He loves to be for us  what we cannot be for ourselves.

Then God said, “Here’s what I want you to do. I want you to worship me because the way to strengthen yourself again is through worship. Tell your soul to worship me even though you don’t feel like it. Worshiping me in weakness strengthens you.”

So, that’s what I did. For weeks and months I sang my heart out. I worshiped Him while I waited for His goodness. He was asking me to worship Him as a prophetic act and through these encounters I learned a few principles

  1. People of promise choose to focus on the Promise Keeper.  By focusing on God, the reality of His character becomes greater . Sometimes the action proceeds the emotion.  Partner with the truth before the reality of that truth is manifested in  your circumstances and things will begin to change even before you realize.
  2. People of promise need patience, trust, and faith to inherit His promises. Hebrews 6 says, “We want each of you to show this same diligence to the very end, so that what you hope for may be fully realized. We do not want you to become lazy, but to imitate those who through faith and patience inherit what has been promised.”
  3. A promise is only as good as the One who makes it. God is faithful. When your faith tank feels empty, ask God, who is faith-“full” to fill you. 1 Thessalonians 5:24 says, “The one who calls you is faithful, and He will do it.” Hebrews 6 says,  “When God made his promise to Abraham, since there was no one greater for him to swear by, he swore by himself, saying, ‘I will surely bless you and give you many descendants.’ And so after waiting patiently, Abraham received what was promised.”
  4. Praise and thanksgiving strengthen us as we wait for His promise.  “Remain confident of this: I will see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. Wait for the LORD; be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD,” (Psalm 27:14)

May we be a people who wait patiently, trust relentlessly, and anchor ourselves in the nature of the One leading us into promise. May hope spring forth in knowing we belong to Him and He longs to lavish us with goodness and mercy all the days of our lives.

To learn more about Kerrie, please visit our Contributor’s Page.

