Fruition

by juste buzas

seedlings-of-maple-by-retemirable_flickr-com_13210640674_aa3cb20394_CC BY-ND 2.0

seedlings-of-maple-by-retemirable_flickr-com_13210640674_aa3cb20394_CC BY-ND 2.0

For as [surely as] the earth brings forth its shoots, and as a garden causes what is sown in it to spring forth, so [surely] the Lord God will cause rightness and justice and praise to spring forth before all nations [through the self-fulfilling power of His word].  (Isaiah 61:11)

One word for 2017:  Fruition.

According to Vocabulary.com, “Fruition is a happy word: it’s derived from the Latin, frui, meaning ‘to enjoy’.”  It means “the condition of bearing fruit; something that is made real or concrete; enjoyment derived from use or possession.”

My young daughter loved planting seeds. She meticulously extracted the seeds from apples, pears, watermelons, oranges and bananas.  Yes, even bananas with all their goo and mush.  She’d carefully nibble away the fruit and set aside her prized, life-filled seeds.  Then out to the front flower garden she’d trot. 

Plastic shovel in hand, she’d dig deep – plowing, tilling and tending the soil until it was rich, moist and free from stone.  She’d sow her seeds with careful tenderness.  She’d water them, watch them and wait.

Time and again, my daughter planted.  Time and again, nothing grew.  She continued her work – day after fruitless day.  Tilling.  Sowing.  Watering.  Watching.  Waiting.

Then, one day.

“Look, Mommy, look!” she excitedly pointed to a slender, green sprout.

I knelt beside her, relieved, whispering a prayer of thanks.

“Which seed is it?” she asked.

“I don’t know,” I said.  “I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.”

With new vigor, my daughter watered her plant.  Tenderly, lovingly, she cared for it.  For many days, we watched the slender sprout grow.

Then one bright morning my daughter gasped in wonder.

“Mommy, look!  A leaf!”  She danced at the edge of her garden.  “What is it?  Which one is it?”

I looked at the broad, green leaf and hesitated.

“Oh, honey, that is a maple leaf.”

My daughter stared at the leaf and said slowly, “But I didn’t plant a maple seed.”

“I know.”  I pointed to the tall maple tree in the middle of the yard.

She looked at the tree, then down at the leaf.  Her eyes filled with tears.

“So, this isn’t one of my seeds,” she whispered.

“No, it isn’t,” I said gently.  Please, God, give me Your wisdom.

My daughter stared at the leaf thoughtfully.  “A maple leaf?” she said as if to herself.

“Yes, a seed from the tree must have fallen into your garden.”

As I hugged her, revelation came.

“Oh, honey,” I said, “just think of it!  You prepared the soil so that God could plant a tree.  You plowed, and you tilled, and you watered the ground, and God deposited a seed.  God planted this seed in your garden.”

Silent for a few moments, her fingers gently stroked the delicate leaf.

“So, I helped God?”

“Yes,” I nodded, “and He helped you.”

She looked up at me, her smile like sunshine after rain.

Fruition!  The work of our hands becomes praise.  The passion of hearts; celebration!  I believe that 2017 is a year of fruition.  A year of fulfillment.  A year of prophecies realized and dreams come true.  A year of increase.  A year for bearing fruit!

Just like my daughter, we have worked, watched, and waited.  Let us joyfully anticipate the promised fruition of God’s work in us!  The ground is ready.  The harvest is sure.  2017 is a year for “springing forth” as described in Isaiah 61.  It is a year to enjoy the abundance of God.  Oh, may the Kingdom of God emerge from the soil of our hope and expectation!

To learn more about Juste, please visit our Contributors page.

