The winds of faithfulness

by kerriebutterfield

Image by Aneurysm9_Flickr.com_2414232119_a9b48da21f_CC BY-ND 2.0

Image by Aneurysm9 Flickr.com_2414232119_a9b48da21f_CC BY-ND 2.0

Months ago, as I was walking, praying, and confessing my fear of failing to God, he reminded me of our history together; stories of His faithful love towards myself and my family through His provision, answered prayers and healing miracles. Gratitude and joy replaced my anxiety.

Humbled by how much He had done in me, through me, and for me, I stopped right then. Closing my eyes, I lifted my face towards heaven and began thanking Him for who He is and all He had done.

Suddenly, a loud wind began to blow. Startled by the sound, I opened my eyes and looked around me. I could hear the wind but the air and trees were still. A bit “weirded out”, I continued my walk. Reaching a cluster of trees, I heard that howling wind again, yet the air and trees remained unmoved. Suspecting God was trying to get my attention, I stood there, listening. Then it happened a third time, only this time I could feel the wind and see it sway the trees. But just in the area where I stood.

“Is that you Papa?” I asked.

He replied, “Kerrie, the winds of my faithfulness are blowing and will carry you to promise. You are worried about failing and about not having enough faith to make it. Your faith will be born from my faithfulness. My faithfulness will make you ‘faith-full’. You are focused on what you can do, and I am focused on what I can do through you and for you. Don’t be anxious. My winds of faithfulness will carry you to the promise land. Don’t focus on your abilities, but my faithfulness.”

I stood in that wind for awhile.

I’ve been standing in those words ever since.

Jesus, PapaGod, and Holy Spirit stand on the shores of our fears and failures to remind us of who we are and of Who they are. It’s their unfailing love that greets us when we run to them.

In John 21, Jesus appears to the disciples after his resurrection.  Forgetting who they were called to be, perhaps afraid of failing again, they return to what they know: fishing. But even their nets come up empty. From the shore Jesus directs them to cast their nets on the other side of the boat and they experience a miraculous catch. Recognizing Jesus, the disciples rush to shore.

Jesus’s feelings towards his disciples hadn’t changed. He relentless and unfailing love for them remained. He happily greeted them at the shore, cooked them breakfast, and reminded Peter of who He has called him to be.

He meets everyone of our fears and failures with grace, too. He isn’t moved by our failures, but we will be moved by His faithfulness.

May God’s faithfulness fill you with ever-growing faith. Confess your failings, draw near to Jesus and He will pour out His mercy and grace on you.

“Therefore, since we have a great high priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession. For we do not have a high priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses… Therefore let us draw near with confidence to the throne of grace, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” Hebrews 4:14-16

