Shooting Stars

by juste buzas

Image by Sergiu Bacloiu flickr.com_8282853841_4370aa05a8_CC BY-ND 2.0

Image by Sergiu Bacloiu
flickr.com_8282853841_4370aa05a8_CC BY-ND 2.0

There is no speech nor spoken word [from the stars]; their voice is not heard.  Yet their voice [in evidence] goes out through all the earth, their sayings to the end of the world. Psalm 19:3,4a (AMP)

I’ve always been mesmerized by God’s creation – from the enormity of the night sky to the quietness of the butterflies fluttering from flower to flower in my grandmother’s garden.  Even when I was young, I noticed everything.  Every detail and intricacy of God’s creation.  I felt close to God – I knew Him – as I climbed trees, danced barefoot in the grass or skipped rocks along the glassy surface of the river on my uncle’s farm.

One summer night I was outside alone, watching the night sky.  It was a remarkably clear night.  I stood on the back porch, looking up into the wide Missouri sky and talked to God.  Out of nowhere, a bright streak of light blazed across the horizon and disappeared; a shooting star!  Never seeing one before then, I stood there dumbfounded, speechless, over come with awe.  Love swelled up within me, and I was filled with solemn wonder at the vastness and nearness of God.  I realized, in that moment, that the God who was, and is, and always will be was real. Very real.  I began to praise Him.

God may not have sent that shooting star just for me, but in that moment of praise and adoration, I understood the enormity of God.  I realized how close He really is.  I understood His intimate and yet boundless love.

I find myself in moments of solemn wonder all the time – watching my children play, witnessing the dawning of another new day, listening to the whispers of the rain.  Every time I find myself in one of these moments, it is always the same.  I am overwhelmed with love for my Creator.  Gratitude rises up within me, and I am silenced in an awestruck wonder of His love for me.

When we purpose to stop, wait, watch and listen for the wonders of God, we begin to notice the little things again – like we did as children.  We live mesmerized by God’s Spirit, astounded by the glory of His presence.

With every rainbow or shooting star, with every sunset and sunrise, may we live in intentional wonder.  May we purpose to be amazed, astounded and astonished by the vast and unending goodness of God’s eternal and unfailing love.

Though this world may fade away, God’s love never fails.  It is constant, consistent, creative and close.  His love abides.  Let us step in and abide in Him.

