The Embrace of God

by juste buzas

Image by Alex Berger
Flickr.com_27607976095_9b67da3b4d_ CC BY-ND 2.0

“Because he has set his love upon Me, therefore I will deliver him; I will set him on high, because he knows and understands My name [has a personal knowledge of My mercy, love, and kindness—trusts and relies on Me, knowing I will never forsake him, no, never].”  (Psalm 91:14)(AMP)

 

One night when I was in Chicago for a conference, I found myself alone in my hotel room after a long day of meetings.  I was tired, weary.  I stood at my window and stared down at the busy and bustling streets of the city.  As I watched the people hurry through the snow, I longed for my children and my husband.  I yearned to hold them, to be held.  I missed my husband’s sheltering embrace.  I craved the sloppy, bowl-me-over kisses of my children.  I longed for love.

Suddenly, I was aware of the silence of the room.  In the quiet of my solitude, I felt the longing of God’s heart toward me.  I could actually feel the yearning of God’s heart toward mine.  He was calling me into His arms, and, like a child, I stepped toward Him and was held close in His eternal embrace. 

Sometimes in the schedules, trials and troubles of this life, we forget to pause long enough to be embraced by God.  We trudge through our fears, tears, hardships and heartaches in our own inadequate strength – never realizing our desperate need for the strength and shelter of God’s arms.

How do we position ourselves for the embrace of God?  And then, how do we, in those sweet moments of revelation, stay there – in His presence and abiding peace?

It’s simple: we must believe and then receive.  Faith and rest are our foundation.  So uncomplicated.  So elementary.  We must lose ourselves – abandon our worries, dreams, hopes and troubles – in the embrace of God’s greatness.   We must live our lives in constant awareness of His love, attention and affection toward us.  As we believe and receive, we will be healed, held and made whole in the broad and dependable embrace of God.

When I arrived home from my conference, I received the joyful embrace of my family with a new appreciation.  I happily received the loving hugs from my husband and the sloppy, abandoned kisses of my children.  I held them, and they held me.  It was wonderful.

There, in the midst of our embrace, I thought of God and smiled.

