Beyond What We Have Known

by juste buzas

Risk it all by Kyle Steed
Flickr.com/photos/kylesteeddesign/4496357233_CC BY-ND 2.0

But if from there you will seek (inquire for and require as necessary) the Lord your God, you will find Him if you [truly] seek Him with all your heart [and mind] and soul and life.  Deuteronomy 4:29

It was late one night.  I was tossing and turning in bed.  My dreams were unsettled, restless.  I turned over upon my back, opened my eyes and faced the darkness.

“What, Lord?” I whispered. I waited.  The night was black, still. Then it came, that still small voice deep within.

“Do you want what you’ve always had?  Then, by all means, continue doing what you’ve always done.  Or, do you want more?”

I lay there awhile, overcome with the significance of my Father’s words. God knew that I wanted more of Him and His Kingdom, but He also knew that I was afraid.  I was afraid of the cost. This season of spiritual dissatisfaction had been a long one.  But God, in His goodness, would not let me rest (spiritually or physically) until I had surrendered my fear and followed Him. Many times, stepping out into the higher things of God means reaching beyond what we have known.  It means letting go of our comfort and security.  It means risk.  My life is a witness to this truth.  I have found that risk is the requirement and the reward for those who walk by faith.

There I was, in the darkness of the night – my Father’s voice ringing in my ears.

“Yes, Lord,” I whispered.  “I want more.  Your will be done.  Your Kingdom come.  No matter what the cost.”

From that day to this, I have walked out that declaration and commitment of faith.

Are we willing to respond to the call of God with a strong “Yes, Lord.  Send me!”?  Are we willing to step beyond the borders of our faith?  Are we willing to risk it all so that we might truly become the light and the salt of this world?

Let’s not hold back.  Let’s reach higher and stretch further than we ever have before.  As Deuteronomy says, “we will find Him when we seek Him”, for God draws close to the seeker’s heart.  Our reward is more!

