What’s the plan?

by kerriebutterfield

Image by lu_lu
Flickr.com 5334609541_6a33ded64f_CC BY-ND 2.0

So, what’s the plan for today?

I’ve had the opportunity to homeschool my daughter for the last two years. Most mornings she comes downstairs and asks me, “What’s the plan today Mom?” And we talk about what each of us wants to do and/or needs to accomplish that day, and then make our best attempts to get things done.

One morning a few months ago, this familiar scene replayed itself in my living room, and as it did, the Holy Spirit said, “I want you to be more like Hanna. Everyday she comes down and asks you what your plan is for the day and then she builds her schedule around that. That is such a beautiful demonstration of Jesus and God. I want this to be our daily interaction so I can astonish you with my desire to bless you and those around you.”

In John 5, Jesus was accused of working on the Sabbath and He reveals an intimate working knowledge of His Father to those who don’t yet know the Father.

“So Jesus explained, ‘I tell you the truth, the Son can do nothing by himself. He does only what he sees the Father doing. Whatever the Father does, the Son also does. For the Father loves the Son and shows him everything he is doing. In fact, the Father will show him how to do even greater works than healing this man. Then you will truly be astonished.'”

Later on, Jesus makes a huge promise to those who believe in Him, and invites them to “do what He did”:

“Don’t you believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words I speak are not my own, but my Father who lives in me does his work through me. Just believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me. Or at least believe because of the work you have seen me do. “I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father. You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father. Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it!” (John 14:10-14)

Jesus’s invitation to do what He did is dependent on my ability to encounter the Father the way He did. I can’t do that in my own strength. I’m asking Holy Spirit to “make me awake” to God’s presence and plans for my life in greater ways than I have before.

Here’s a few questions I’m learning to ask Him to help me partner with Him:

1.  Holy Spirit, would you help me to live as your daughter/son? I trust you with my day today.
2. Papa, what are you doing today and how can I can join you? Would you show me or tell me?
3. Papa, would you give me your heart to bless others and would you bless me because it’s who you are?

I pray that we’re awakened to His plans to bless us and those around us through us. May we be delighted by His unfailing love every morning. May we live out Psalm 143:8, “Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I entrust my life.”  What’s the plan for today, Papa?

 

