Path of Promises

by Carol Nicholls

Praying by Melissa Bube
Flickr.com_11564567_02193e411e_CC BY-ND 2.0

All of the promises of God in Him are yes and in Him Amen.  2 Corinthians 1:20 NKJV

“Every promise in the book is mine, every chapter, every verse, every line…” Those are the words to a simple song I learned in my youth. It has taken many years to really grasp the true meaning. Promise, according to the dictionary, is a declaration or assurance that one will do a particular thing or assurance that a particular thing will happen. In childhood I became very cynical about promises. My parents were very good at thinking out loud. My childlike trusting heart believed their words were promises. More times than not, I was disappointed.

In my teens friends would promise to include me in activities and then forget. Needless to say I entered adulthood disbelieving anyone ‘s promises until what they promised came to fruition. I did realize that people were mostly careless with their words, not understanding how much I wanted their words to be true. They had not lived my life nor experienced my disappointments. I could forgive them easily but did not expect them to really keep those “promises.”

Believing that God is good and never lies became a struggle. I finally resolved the issue by believing that, yes, God is good and He never lies. He will do everything he says…just not for me. This became a self-fulfilling prophecy. The words I spoke over myself became reality. God could not give me all of the good things He wanted to give because, very often, I refused to accept them.

So, how did I get from that to where I believe totally that He is faithful, never lies and speaks truth into my heart and mind all the time? My life now is a huge testimony to His amazing love gifts. The answer is, I went to a Bethesda prayer appointment, not as a prayer minister but as one seeking prayer. In that prayer room with two wonderful prayer ministers I confessed my distrust and asked for forgiveness. I exposed my years of pain and disappointment and let Him have them. An amazing peace entered my heart and mind. The path to promises was opened wide and I walk in them today.

Please, if you have hurts or distrust or anything blocking your relationship with Jesus, find fellow Christians who will pray with you through the pain. You don’t have to carry that burden any longer. Every promise in the book is YOURS!

