I Hear the Rain

by juste buzas

Image by Ed Merrit
Flickr.com_5458771978_55f71d99a3_ CC BY-ND 2.0

And said to his servant, ‘Go up now, look toward the sea. And he went up and looked and said, “There is nothing.” Elijah said, ‘Go again seven times.’  And at the seventh time the servant said, ‘A cloud as small as a man’s hand is arising out of the sea.’ (1 Kings 18:43)

Here I am, standing in the desert, under my open umbrella.  I’m waiting for rain.  I know it looks strange, insane even.  I’ve been standing here a long time, and no one seems to get it.  No one understands.  But just listen.  Do you hear it?  Feel it?  No?  Try again.  Listen.  I can hear it.  I hear the rain.  It’s coming.  It’s just upon the horizon.

Do you remember Elijah when he was praying to end the drought?  He sent his servant to look for the rain.  When the servant returned to tell Elijah that there was no rain, Elijah said, “Look again.”  Elijah knew the rain was coming.

For many years, I lived life full of doubt, and fear ruled.  Trials and troubles overwhelmed and deafened my ears.  I could not hear the thunder of God’s glory.  I could not see the outpouring rain of His keeping grace.  I wanted more of God’s heart, more of God’s presence, but I lacked the one thing necessary to step in: faith.

One day, however, everything changed.  I was there, on my knees in prayer, and I heard it.  I heard the rain.  It was the rain of promise.  The rain of God’s faithfulness.  The rain of blessing.

Right then and there, I decided to walk differently.  Believe differently.  I decided to heed the coming rain more than the threat of lingering drought.  I decided to simply believe every word and every promise that God has spoken to me (and about me) in His Word.  I decided to believe and actually receive the prophecies that I had hidden away in my weary heart.  I decided to believe and heed that still, small Voice.

This simple, monumental shift in perspective and action changed my life.

In the face of fear, in the tumult of trial, I stand unshaken and immovable.  I stand boldly with my God – my Savior, my friend, my advocate.  I simply believe Him.  His promises, His greatness, His faithful love.

Isaiah 41:18 says:

I will open rivers on the bare heights, and fountains in the midst of the valleys; I will make the wilderness a pool of water, and the dry land springs of water.

Whatever the circumstance you face today, know this:  the rain is coming!  So, look up.  Trust.  Hope.  Receive.

