Measured by God

by juste buzas

Worship
by spaceamobea
Flickr.com_1515437636_ce7442adf1_CC BY-ND 2.0

“I have been crucified with Christ [in Him I have shared His crucifixion]; it is no longer I who live, but Christ (the Messiah) lives in me; and the life I now live in the body I live by faith in (by adherence to and reliance on and complete trust in) the Son of God, Who loved me and gave Himself up for me.”  (Galatians 2:20)

Early one morning, while on my knees in prayer, I asked the Lord to expand me.  I prayed that He would broaden my capacity to hold Him…to know Him.  I asked for increase in my ability to minister His love and life to others.

In response to my heartfelt cry, God answered, “Let me measure you, My daughter.”

I lifted my arms.  In the Spirit, I saw a cloak arranged and placed upon my shoulders.  I saw a tailor’s measuring tape placed and stretched.  I doubted and dropped my arms.

“I’m not done measuring,” He said gently.

“Oh,” I said and raised my arms again.

“Wider,” God said.  “Open your arms wider.”

And I did.

“Wider still,” He whispered.

As I stretched my arms out as far as I could stretch them, God opened my eyes to see.  There, on my knees, with my arms stretched wide, I saw the cross upon my back.  I saw myself, crucified with Christ. I hung there, with my arms pressed back against the cross.  I stayed there, weeping.

“I measure you, My daughter, according to My Son.”

There was terrifying holiness, immense love, and immediate forgiveness in the profoundness of His words.

“Take me,” I whispered.  “Take my life.  Everything.  I give myself to You.  Take all of me, Lord.  I surrender.”

I stayed there on the cross, enveloped in the richness of His grace, until the tears ran dry and the soberness of His call rested heavily upon me. “Not my will, but Yours be done,” I whispered.

I determined, in that moment, to crucify all that holds me back from God’s best.  I determined to die to self, to let go of selfish motives, and to trust God beyond all doubt. Oh!  It is a glorious gift to know Jesus through His suffering and sacrifice.  There is great liberty in surrender!  There is tremendous joy in sacrifice! May we determine to live as Christ did.  Yielded in will.  Established in purpose.  Poured out for others.  Upheld by truth.  Sustained by love.

